D XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd"> The Cheaper Petrol Party - School Zones

School Zone Program

All States operate a School Zone Program however, the conditions and speed limits vary from State to State.

It is important to be aware that school holidays vary from State to State so crossing borders can suddenly mean you are in a school zone.



School Zones As from Monday 16 July to Friday 21 September, most school zones are back in force.

The majority of school zones operate between:
8:00 am – 9:30 am and 2:30 pm – 4:00 pm on gazetted school days.

In NSW Motorists are required to drive at no more than 40 km/h through school zones.

Roads with direct school access points (including multi-lane and high speed roads) must have a 40 km/h school zone.

There are a small number of non-standard school zone times in New South Wales.

These zones are identified by red/orange school zone signs which indicate non-standard times. Signs at these schools display the times which apply.

40 km/h school speed zones operate across New South Wales at all school sites on gazetted school days.

The NSW gazetted school days are:

Gazetted school days 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Term 1 Tuesday 27 January to Thursday 9 April
(Eastern Division of NSW
Wednesday 27 January to Thursday 1 April
Eastern Division NSW

28 January to 8 April
Eastern Division NSW

Friday 27 January to Thursday 5 April
Eastern Division NSW
Tuesday 29 January to Thursday 11 April
  Tuesday 3 February to Thursday 9 April
(Western Division of NSW)
Wednesday 3 February to Thursday 1 April
Western Division NSW
4 February to 8 April Friday 3 February to Thursday 5 April
Western Division NSW
Term 2 Tuesday 28 April to Friday 10 July Monday 19 April to Friday 2 July 26 April to 1 July Monday 23 April to Friday 29 June Monday 29 April to Friday 28 June
Term 3 Monday 27 July to Friday 2 October Monday 19 July to Friday 24 September 18 July to 23 September Monday 16 July to Friday 21 September Monday 15 July to Friday 20 September
Term 4 Monday 19 October to Friday 18 December Monday 11 October to Friday 17 December 10 October to 20 December Monday 8 October to Friday 21 December Tuesday 8 October to Friday 20 December

(Updated July 2012)

Minimum fines and loss of demerit points for exceeding the 40km/h speed limit in an operating school zone.

Exceed 40km/h in an operating school zone in a light (class A) vehicle by:
Minimum fine
Minimum loss of
demerit points
• 10 km/h and under
• More than 10km/h but less than 20 km/h
• More than 20km/h but less than 30 km/h
• More than 30km/h but less than 45 km/h
• More than 45 km/h
These fines can be significantly higher for other vehicle classes.
* These values are higher for learners and provisional drivers.


Some School Zone parking offences:
Minimum fine
Minimum loss of
demerit points
• Disobey no stopping sign
• Disobey no parking sign
• Stop at/in/near bus stop
• Stop on/near pedestrian/children's crossing
• Double park
For a more complete list of school zones offences see School Zone Offences


(Updated January 2012)

see also School zone offences

Public Holidays are not considered school days.

Source RTA Fact Sheet (Note: Fines have not been updated on RTA website)


As from Monday 9 July - Friday 21 September, most school zones are back in force.


The new school zone operating times for all schools in Queensland will be standardised to 7–9 am and 2–4 pm, unless specifically signed.
This will come into effect gradually in 2012 as signs are upgraded.

By 16 April 2012, all school zones across south-east Queensland will be upgraded to 7–9 am and 2–4 pm.

For areas outside south-east Queensland, the department is speaking with schools and local councils to determine the appropriate times for each local government jurisdiction.
By 9 July 2012 all schools outside south-east Queensland will have standardised school zones for their council area.

Please note: until a school zone has the new times signed, existing times and signage will be in force.

School zones at split campus schools

Split-campus schools often require children to cross a road to travel to classes during the school day.
Because students are required to cross the road throughout the day, not just before and after school, School Zone Sign Qld
'all day' school zones will be progressively installed at all split-campus schools in Queensland during 2012.

'All day' school zones will operate 7 am–4 pm on school days.
Flashing light school zone signs, that will flash all day, will be installed at each split-campus school.
The flashing light school zone signs will alert motorists of the operation of the all day school zone.


Speed limits which generally apply include:

  • 40 kilometres per hour (km/h) in all areas where the existing limit is 50/60/70 km/h
  • 60 km/h in all areas where the existing limit is 80 km/h
  • 60 km/h or 80 km/h in areas where the speed limit is 90/100 km/h, depending on the amount of school related activity on or near the road
  • 80 km/h on roadss where the existing limit is 110 km/h.

More information on school zone speed limits is available in the school environment safety guidelines (PDF**, 908KB).

Times of operation for school zones is generally between 7:30am – 9:30am and 2:00pm – 4:00pm on school days, but can vary.
These hours may vary in accordance with local requirements, taking account of peak times when students are entering and leaving school grounds.

Some, Extended, "all day" times of operation for school zones, generally within the hours of 7:30am – 4:00pm.


state schools
school days
2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Term 1 Tuesday 27 January to Thursday 9 April Wednesday 27 January - Thursday 1 April Monday 24 January - Friday 15 April Monday 23 January - Friday 30 March Tuesday 29 January - Thursday 28 March
Term 2 Tuesday 20 April to Friday 26 June Monday 12 April - Friday 25 June Tuesday 26 April - Friday 24 June Monday 16 April - Friday 22 June Monday 15 April - Friday 21 June
Term 3 Monday 13 July to Friday 18 September Monday 12 July - Friday 17 September Monday 11 July - Friday 16 September Monday 9 July - Friday 21 September Monday 8 July - Friday 20 September
Term 4 Monday 5 October to Friday 11 December Monday 4 October - Friday 10 December Monday 3 October - Friday 9 December Monday 8 October - Friday 14 December Monday 7 October - Friday 13 December

(Updated July 2012)

School Calendar (Qld department of education)